Tags

, , ,

Few months ago, on a Saturday morning, I felt really down and discouraged by the task before me. I had not launched my new Company, Tiossano, yet and was freaking out bigtime because I have been without inspiration for few days.

As I was wandering around the house frustrated and unproductive, my Beloved suggested I read this book a friend, Brian Johnston,  had sent him to get his thoughts on it. The book was titled the “the Art of War” by Steven Pressfield.  The title was intriguing enough, but most importantly Michael’s comment was “give it a try, I have a feeling it will talk to you”. Still grumbling and in a terrible mood, I decided to give it a chance.

And WOW! My fingers were burning to turn the pages, my soul was drinking every word and my brain was concurring. I finished it in one breath!

As it turns out, “the art of War” was about that very exact force that has taken over me for days, interposing itself between me and my work: that force he calls it RESISTANCE! The book is brilliant, concise, clear and without any pretension, and super funny at times.

I like to “criticise by creating”, and Pressfield just reminded me how Resistance is the enemy of the creator, and most importantly he walks us through simple steps to fight the demon. When I got to the end of the book, I jumped out of the couch, took a long shower and went to war, with a powerful jolt of energy. My Beloved just looked at me with a “you’re welcome, dear” smile on his face.

“Creative work is not a selfish act or a bid for attention on the part of the actor. It’s a gift to the world and every being in it. Don’t cheat us of your contribution. Give us what you’ve got” ~ Steven Pressfield