Tags

, ,

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” Steve Jobs, 1955-2011

Fifteen years ago, after having closely flirted with spiritual and emotional death, I decided the only way to survive for me would be to live my life, and no one else’s. Whatever the price.

And what a price I paid! It cost me my relationship with my parents, the rest of my family and everyone else I had come to rely on. It sucked, but then I read the Alchemist of Paul Coelho who said “The fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself and no heart has ever suffered while in the pursuit of its dream”.

So when later, I came across the saying above from Steve Jobs, a Man, Genius for whom I have such Respect (there is no proper word to describe my admiration for him), I fell to my knees. No truth has ever been this pure,  this true and this liberating.

Often people wonder about the fire that inhabits me. I let them look at me with round eyes, thinking I am crazy. If only they knew the sacrifices I made to be a truly free person, perhaps they would understand why I am giving it all I have to make sure those sacrifices were not in vain.

Well Steve Jobs, you are the symbol of the amazing rewards of living one’s own life. Living your own life is what allowed you to touch so many lives. And you also showed us how Excellence and Perseverance always win when it’s all said and done. I will be forever grateful to have been an adult under your era, and fully grasp the meaning of who you have been and what you have done.  I have never been one to want to be where the masses were, but tonight I have no other way to cope with this terrible news of your passing than joining my brothers and sisters out there on the Net and try to find some comfort. I am crying right now, sobbing even. My hubby is on a trip. I never thought that someone I have never met for real would have such an effect on me. But you do. I know I have been changed forever by you! Job well done, My Genius! I love you and I will look for your spirit to visit me in my dreams. That and comfort for Yours are my prayers for tonight. Ce n’est qu’un au revoir.