Tags

, ,

Ayelet Book

A month or so ago, my friend Ayelet Baron, sent me the manuscript of her book, called “Unstuck” (you can read the book here Getting Unstuck – by Ayelet Baron) .

I read the book while on a trip in Guatemala. There, sitting by a gorgeous pool and surrounded by a wonderful breeze, colorful flowers and peaceful energy, I started scrolling through the pages. By the end of the preface, I decided to do something I have never been able to do while reading: I put on music.
I always write with music, but I am normally not able to read with music. Very strange!
In any case, in this situation, I put together this playlist and went back to my reading.
That is when I experienced something a bit surreal: a situation in which I had goose bumps all over my body, filled with emotions, crying sometimes even.

I think what was happening is that Ayelet was talking to every single part of my being with her book. Every page, every line, every word resonated with the life I have come to embrace 6-7 years ago. A life in which I decided I would not wait for anyone to validate me, a life in which I would create and live by my own rules, be my own original self, following my passions and dreams. I had decided to have the courage to “Find out who I am, and do it on purpose” (Dolly Parton).
Ayelet’s book is amazing in the sense that it does not follow traditional book writing style. You can start it at any page and it still makes sense. It is authentic, with the unforgiving wittiness of a woman who has gone through enough and is now determined to follow her own path from here on. I think that as humans we all crave the freedom to be ourselves. Ayelet’s book shares the lessons of the journey of a woman who took the leap of no return towards herself so to completely deprogram and free herself from society’s chains. Hopefully, you will not wait for a flight gone terribly wrong (in Ayelet’s case) or the death of your soul mate (in my case) to realize that you only have ONE life and it is about time to make it YOUR life. May you find in her book the same comfort and encouragements I found. I salute Ayelet’s courage.

